The Call

I finally submitted my papers on February 8th 2015.  I was nervous but very excited and eager!

IMG_4295

Before the age change was made I had decided that if I wasn’t married and genuinely wanted to that I would serve a mission at the age of 21.  I was a little more set on it than Abby was I believe.  But when the age change was made and sisters could then serve at age 19, I decided that a mission was the route for me.  I would go to a year of school, work on and submit my papers, and then leave the following summer and that is exactly what I am doing!

Waiting for my call to arrive, I anticipated being sent somewhere in Asia.  I really like Asians, and I genuinely and fully believed I was going to be sent there.  South America, never even once crossed my mind despite my small background in Spanish and Portuguese.

My call arrived on February 19th 2015(which is typical for those future missionaries living in Utah & Idaho)…

IMG_4387

As you can imagine I was shocked to read out loud that I had been called to serve in the BOLIVIA SANTA CRUZ NORTH MISSION.  Here, enjoy the surprise for yourself….

Enjoy Abby’s opening too!

For the next couple of hours every time I told someone about my call I busted up into tears just like I did in the video.  I am excited to go out and serve and I know that Bolivia is the place that I need to be for the next 18 months.

I was 100% not expecting to be sent to the SAME Missionary Training Center(Centro de Capacitacion Misional(CCM) in Spanish) on the SAME day as Abby.  But looking back, I have realized that many sets of twins that open their calls at the same time generally speak the same language, leave on the same day, return on the same day, or go to the same MTC  so I should have known something like this would happen!  At first I wasn’t too thrilled, but I have come to realize that Heavenly Father is just recognizing our “twinly relationship” by keeping us together for a little while longer and allowing us to learn the same language.  It will be a blessing that I will appreciate more once we actually get down there.

IMG_4393img_79111

I am thankful that even though our parents and family were thousands of miles away from us, they still got to participate in our call openings!  Originally I wanted to just open them privately in my room while Skyping our parents, but it makes for much better memories with friends and family “gathered round” to join in on the excitement and anticipation!

dsc_0019

PS.  The title of this post also happens to be the title of one of my favorite songs–  The Call by Regina Spektor, its a good one so go give it a listen!


Questions on how I was called to the Bolivia Santa Cruz North Mission?  This article might help!

Leave a Reply

