November 2, 2015 {Week 20}: No Halloween Here

Hola amigos!

We had ANOTHER furry visitor last night!  It rained all day so…  I was gonna go take a shower when I saw something move on the floor, and I was like awww snap, it’s some animal thing and I don’t wanna die.  So I called Hermana Piscoya and then Hermana Nelson to help me.  Hermanas Nelson and Sedano said it was just a moth, then we closed the door a little more…. it was a RAT! A RAT WAS IN OUR HOUSE!  So I screamed and ran to put on shoes and then they were all like let’s kill it with a broom!! and Hermana Nelson was like no it can just run out the door.  Which it promptly did after some screaming and shouting, and then our dueña(landlord) showed up and asked what was wrong.  Yeah so, they believe that rats are very intelligent so it understand what they said about killing it and about leaving through the door and that’s why it left. I don’t know about that. There was a rat that’s all I know.

Yeah so I have been in Trinidad all week for mis migraciones(immigrations) Wednesday to Friday so Hermana Piscoya had to work in Cerritos all week and I worked in Trinidad which is beautiful by the way!  My photos didn’t transfer so unfortunately all you will have is a selfie of me and the Elders. [This hurts me more than it hurts you but unfortunately ABSOLUTELY no photos this week.  Not one.]  I really enjoy the Elders, they are always good and ready for good conversations about the scriptures or about the mission life and leadership and blah blah blah, ellos son buenos, muchos son locos pero buenos(they are good guys, crazy but good.)  Yeah so I worked with the 2 Hermana Capacitadoras(sister training leaders) there in Trinidad, Hermana Vega from Ecuador and Hermana Wilkinson from St. George.  It was a really great week!  Working in a trio actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be.  Trinidad also has recuerdos(souvenirs)!  So I bought an alligator belt for like $12 and a cow foot keychain for like $2.  Needless to say it was awesome haha.  They had jaguar pelt belts too, but that’s like way illegal so I passed.  I had a fantastic time chatting with them in Spanish during the day and English in the evenings in the house.  This was the first time I’ve spoekn English like a fluent person in about 5 months so I really relished the time.  They have 3 Americans in their house and with me it was 4.  So we had a “God Bless America” rant in ENGLISH!  It was the best, and these sisters actually still love America!  And they recognize the many blessings we have for being born there and for growing up there.

I worry about the United States, I pray for it a lot.  I haven’t heard too much, although investigators occasionaly update us with things, normally to bash Obama lol.  I found that Donald Trump is running for President?  Don’t know exactly the veracity of that, but if it someone wants to update me more definitievly that would be nice haha.

Anyway so I was a little scared to go back home to Hermana Piscoya in Riberalta después de este bonita semana allá(after the great week in Trinidad), but I came home to a changed Hermana Piscoya!  I have no idea what happened, if my prayers paid off, if she’s been praying, if new sisters means less stress, if she had some major spiritual experience… no tengo ningun idea(I have no idea.)  But she’s an angel– she listens to my stories with a smile, presta servicio para mi(helps me), she’s friendly, she wants to talk about life and what we are gonna do with ourselves. I don’t understand, but I’ve just been counting my blessings with joy and the hope  that it’ll hold out.  We´ve had a great 3 days back together again.

UPDATE: I am going to the city TODAY!  I am so excited to see Hernana Huerta and maybe visit with la familia Salas y todo.  Voy a comprar como 3 latas de mantequilla de Mani, AKA PEANUT BUTTER FOR DAYZZZZ.  I am very excited haha.

I’ve prayed and fasted for several of you this week. So I hope all is well stateside as life goes on and as I help others come unto Christ and develop their testimonies(3 of our investigators came to church this week and the branch has 4 baptisms planned for the 14th!)

Halloween means nothing, although today, Dia de los Muertos is a holiday!  So we will have a pleasant and busy Pday before I leave at 4.

I learned that my university studies also don’t mean anything here in the mission. What matters is your study of the Gospel and your study of the Scriptures.  That’s where it really counts here in the mission and in the grand scheme of things.  I used my ponderize scripture this past week in a lesson too!

This week’s scripture is Mosiah 23:21-22.
Nevertheless the Lord seeth fit to chasten his people; yea, he trieth their patience and their faith. Nevertheless—whosoever putteth his trust in him the same shall be lifted up at the last day. Yea, and thus it was with this people.

In Spanish:

Con todo, el Señor considera conveniente castigar a su pueblo; sí, él prueba su paciencia y su fe. Sin embargo, quien pone su confianza en él será enaltecido en el postrer día. Sí, y así fue con este pueblo.

The Latinos have to ponderize in English and we in Spanish, which by the way, my Spanish is continually improving!

Much Love and prayers,
Hermana Erin Butikofer

PS: SEARCH, PONDER & PRAY ARE THE THINGS THAT WE MUST DO

Leave a Reply

