November 15, 2015 {Week 22}: Sloppy Joes, Hermana Carla, Favorite Street, Giant Bug

So it’s looking like no pictures this week.  [The universe conspired against me this week and I received not a single picture from either Erin or Abby.] I’m really sorry.  Above is the list of photos I wanted to send home, so I hope you’ll get at least a mental picture haha.

So Hermana Nelson has chikunguñya, [I’ve linked it in case you have forgotten what it is…some sort of mosquito transferred virus] so they spent a day inside and she has the awful rash all over her body that people get.  I’m worried that she didn’t take enough days rest and that it’ll come back later stronger, but she’s alright for now.

I made sloppy joes PRONTO(immediately) this past week and they were delicious!  [She received her first package last week in which I had included some spice packets.] Different than home, of course, but almost the same.  I relished my lunch that day haha. [I sure hope she shared!]

It rained one day this week during lunch and we aren’t allowed to get wet because of “sickness due to rain”(weird traditions in South America), so guess what we did!?? WE WATCHED A DISNEY MOVIE!  No idea if we are allowed to or not…but we watched Intensa Mente!  I dont know what it’s called in English, but it’s about this little girl and the emotions in her head and how Alegría(happiness) has to learn that Tristeza(sadness) is in everything.  Without tristeza(sadness) there can’t be alegria(happiness). [If you haven’t guessed yet, the movie was Inside Out. Jamie and I laughed hysterically at her description of the movie.  It is a great reminder of how disconnected she and all missionaries are from the things of the world.] It was a really cute and I’m always craving Disney movies or music(honestly mostly Disney music) in the mission so it was wonderful.  The movie was super cute and reminds me of the teachings of Lehi in 2 Nephi 2 concerning an opposition in all things.  There can’t be happiness if there was never misery(something along those lines) therefore Adam fell.  And Adam fell that men might be, and men are that they might have joy.  It’s a good little discurso(lesson) en El Libro de Mormón.

I think I can now officially say that I’m not a grumpy person anymore!  Before, for those who know me quite well, I think grumpy was a prime adjective to describe Erin Butikofer.  But now, as Hermana Butikofer(BooteacoughRR en español), I think I can officially and safely say that I’m not a grumpy person anymore and neither is Erin Butikofer.
Side note: praying out loud in English is really hard. I’m like translating from Spanish into English but 1/2 the time I can’t remember anything. jaja

Okay, onto Hermana Carla.  Ya’ll Hermana Carla truly is a golden investigator.  She attends activities with us throughout the week, she’s invited her 2 younger brothers to activities, she attends church for all 3 hours every Sunday, she’s praying every morning and evening, developing her testimony, accepting the lessons with joy and understanding, preparing for HER BAPTISM(Saturday @ 5 if you want to come jaja), and making friendships with the members.  We have even started dropping the suggestion that she should serve amission here in a year(we both think Mexico will be the place for her).  She really is wonderful. She gave us each bracelets this week to say thank you.  They are so pretty.  Im gonna wear it everyday.  She just needs one so the 3 of us can take a cute photo haha. [YES to the photo!]  We are her friends now, I have una amiga Boliviana from my mssion and what a blessing it is!  We are organizing a surprise shopping day for tomorrow so that she can have skirts a little bit longer for Church every Sunday. And she’s always asking us to have Noches de Hogar(Family Home Evenings) with her en la casa de la familia Fernandez.  I love Hermana Carla, and I can’t believe we had the good fortune to meet her and get to know her and teach her this transfer.

Transfers aren’t for another 2 weeks, but she makes me want to stay here in Riberalta and continue to teach her!  I love Hermana Carla!

Anyway, my ponderize scripture this week is Alma 10:5. “Nevertheless, after all this, never have known much of the ways of the Lord, and his mysteries and marvelous power. said never had known much of these things; but behold, mistake, for have seen much of his mysteries and his marvelous power; yea, even in the preservation of the lives of this people.”

Have a great week friends and family!

Hermana E Butikofer
P.S. Hermano Jose Pedro failed us TWICE on Saturday for his baptism so we aren’t quite sure yet what we are going to do about him.
Leave a Reply

