February 6, 2016 {Week 34}: Do Better and Be Better

Okay, I have a lot of things to say this week, but I’m gonna get a couple little things out of the way first.

So I am writing today (Saturday) because starting tonight we will be in our house until Wednesday afternoon, so its gonna be a longggg weekend of reading and cleaning and getting fat and taking naps and mostly reading so jajaja. Due to Carnaval of course. [For those who may not be familiar with the South American tradition of Carnaval celebrations, Carnaval season typically stretches from late January to early March during the time leading up to Lent. Carnaval is meant as a final chance to celebrate and have a good time before the solemn rituals and deprivations of Lent. It is characterized by parades of song, dance, costumes and traditions vary by city.]

Yeah I also tried turtle last week!  It was REALLY gamey and not something I really want to try again.

Okay on to the real stuff..  I’ve realized that when we pray it needs to be with real intent.  And real intent means that what we ask for or the help we want to receive is something we actually INTEND on doing. We can’t just ask for help to be happier or more diligent if we don’t do anything to be happier.  We have to actually put in our effort and then the Lord will fill in the rest and magnify our efforts so that we can know he answered our prayers.

This week, yesterday, we had concilio (mission council) in the city.  It was the best concilio ever, seriously.  So I wanetd to share some of my thoughts and couple things I have learned and have been thinking about lately, the past few days.  How many times have we sinned in ignorance?  Not knowing the will of God concerning on us? On the opposite hand how many times have we done good ignorantly?  Not knowing the promised blessings from the Lord when we are obedient?  It’s good to be obedient because we should be, but it’s better to obedient from our own good will and desires to follow the Lord.  Before the mission I would always say, “I’m obedient to the commandments of God because they are from Him so we obey.” So I asked the question “Why are we obedient?” We are obedient because of the Atonement of Jesus Christ, because He suffered for us! He suffered for me. Which brings to mind a really good song, “This is the Christ” which I have from the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, and the line: “how many drops of blood were shed for me?” I have that written on a sticky note on my wall to think about.  How much did the Lord suffer for me? And then, What can I do to use His suffering in my life?  To feel His smile on me as I try to improve?  I used to always say “do good and be good” but now I’ve changed it to “do better and be better.” That’s why we have the Atonement!  So we can improve and change our lives and repent and be clean.  When we understand the WHY or the BECAUSE we obey, we will be more prepared to see the blessings and miracles from the hand of God daily in our lives.  I am trying to teach better through my actions and my words as well that the Savior is my WHY and my BECAUSE.  He suffered for me and He suffered for you.

16 For behold, I, God, have suffered these things for all, that they might not suffer if they would repent;

17 But if they would not repent they must suffer even as I;

18 Which suffering caused myself, even God, the greatest of all, to tremble because of pain, and to bleed at every pore, and to suffer both body and spirit—and would that I might not drink the bitter cup, and shrink—

19 Nevertheless, glory be to the Father, and I partook and finished my preparations unto the children of men.
Doctrine and Covenants 19:16-19  My medetizar(ponderize) scripture for the week.

So the only thing I can do is repent(it’s a commandment too). Always. There are things that we need to change(basically a synonym to repent) every day and every week and that’s why partaking of the sacrament is so important! So we can be clean once again of all our sins just like when we were baptized.

I invite each of you, just as the Lord invited us, just as prophets today invite us, to abandon all your practices- personal, familial, ethnic and national, that are contrary to the commandments of God.  Come unto Christ, repent of all your sins and be saved at the last day.  I love my Saviour and I know that He suffered for me and now is my time to come even more unto Him and be filled with His Spirit and change my life.

“’Twas I; but ’tis not I: I do not shame to tell you what I was, since
my conversion so sweetly tastes, being the thing I am.” –Shakespeare’s As You Like It

I hope that I can say this everyday of my life.  I am not who I was, and I don’t know who I am going to be in the end of my days, but I hope I can be more like my Saviour in this walk of life.

Have a great week my dearest friends and family!  I think and pray about many of you daily. I hope you can continue to grow in your respective testimonies and meditate more on what the Saviour has done for you.

Spoken from the heart,
Hna E Butikofer

IMG_6961.JPG
Mission council
IMG_6967
Since Hermana Justo was transferred, these are my new companions.  They were the other companionship in Riberalta.  Now we are working together as a trio.
IMG_6968

Leave a Reply

