March 14, 2016 {Week 39}: 5 Week Transfer

Well, we found out officially that this is a 5 week transfer and offically only 2 new Latinas sisters are coming at the end of the transfer!

Mission council was this past week, but Hermana Sedano and I were not invited so we did
some work and LOTS of walking here in Riberalta.  The young sisters that accompany us on visits got their mission calls this week!!!! One to Mexico, one to Chile, and one to Argentina!  I am so excited and happy for the youth that are leaving from here in the district to go one missions. They will come back more prepared spiritually and with experiences to help the district and the ramas progress.  So proud and happy for each of them that have made this decision.  We are working with Hermana Yankarla [for followers of this blog, you may recall that Hermana Yankarla was baptized in November] so she can be prepared to serve a mission at the end of this year.  She is converted to the gospel and is always applying gospel principles in her life and especially her prayers. I love Hermana Yankarla!

So I read Alma 26 this week, and all I can say is that it all becomes true.  All the rejoicing of Ammon in his God and the miracles he and his brothers could during their years as missionaries becomes true!  I feel the same way as they felt!  I am still working on developing greater love for the people and greater faith in the Lord, but his rejoicings are mine too. (:  Through faith, as Alma said, thousands can be truly converted.

I have a lot of scriptures and thoughts to share with y’all this week.

1. Mosiah 2:41
“And moreover, I would desire that ye should consider on the blessed and happy state of those that keep the commandments of God. For behold, they are blessed in all things, both temporal and spiritual; and if they hold out faithful to the end they are received into heaven, that thereby they may dwell with God in a state of never-ending happiness. O remember, remember that these things are true; for the Lord God hath spoken it.”

The only way we can truly be happy in this life, in the day of our probation, is if we accept and obey the commandments of God.  Sure we can try to find happiness in the vain things of the world that don’t mean anything, but the only way we can truly be happy and live in a state of never ending happiness, in good times and in bad, is when we are faithful and loyal to the commandments God has given us.  Through the scriptures and through revelation.  The Gospel, acccpeting it into your hearts and truly living, to try and be more like Christ is THE ONLY WAY we can be truly happy. Choose you this day whom ye will serve…but as for me and my life, I will serve the Lord.(Joshua 24:15)

2. And my ponderize scripture for the week – Alma 24:18
“And this they did, it being in their view a testimony to God, and also to men, that they never would use weapons again for the shedding of man’s blood; and this they did, vouching and covenanting with God, that rather than shed the blood of their brethren they would give up their own lives; and rather than take away from a brother they would give unto him; and rather than spend their days in idleness they would labor abundantly with their hands.”

Many of you who knew me before the mission probably would’ve said that I was cold and grumpy and had an iron heart. I would like to say that I am NOT that person anymore!  But I remember that Mr. Hawk(one of my mentors) always used to tell me, when I got quick or sharp with people, “put your knife away, girl!” and it was so hard!  But this scripture this week reminded me of the change in me.  I don’t want my words, or actions to hurt people anymore!  I don’t want others to feel pain because of the things I’ve said rather I want them to know that I love my Savior and therefore I love them.  I want them to be edified and feel better after talking to me.  I don’t want to be mean or angry or grumpy with people. I just want to express love for them and for my Savior.  So my covenant is also to put those things behind me, in my “spiritual cemetery” where the bad things in me rest in peace jajajaja.  I want to give to others rather than take from them.  I want to labor hard for the changes in me and to see miracles and then I will be prepared to go home and study and start the rest of my life.  I would rather give my life to the Lord than hurt someone else’s progression.  I love the Gospel. [I LOVE her!]

Finally to be happier we need top ask oursleves. “Am I happy?  If not, why not?”  To be happier we need to apply the teachings of the restored Gospel and be obedient!  And Sabbath day observance is a very good place to start so here is a link to a fantastic and cute and short article on keeping the Sabbath Day holy! Check it out!

https://www.lds.org/ensign/2016/03/blessings-of-the-sabbath-day?lang=eng

Other notes: I will be watching Disney movies in Spanish when I get home FOR SURE.  I like Spanish, and these past few weeks with Hna Vega I’ve been really focusing on getting over my pride and improving my accent so I sound more like the Latina I look jajaja.

The scriptures in Spanish are so great.  I honestly think everyone should learn another language just so they can study the scriptures in 2 languages.  Your understanding of the Gospel expands SO MUCH when you can read and study and gain insights and inspiration from the Holy Ghost in 2 languages.  I need to learn another one when I get home haha.

Much love and thoughts and prayers!

Hna E Butikofer

IMG_7292.JPG[Only one picture this week but I love how it is completely descriptive of her life right now]

 

Leave a Reply

