May 30, 2016 {Week 50}: My birthday week

Okay I have LOAD of things to share this week, because it has just been a super great week….  I realized that before, here in the mission, I wasn’t feeling the Spirit as much as I could have and should have and I wasn’t happy as I could have been because I was relying on mi propria experiencia… I wasn’t trusting in the Lord, but I’ve made the change and the Spirit is SO much more abundant in my life and provides the direction we need as missionaries.  It reminds me of the hymn Lead, Kindly Light so go give that a listen!!

We have been SUPER yesca [It takes me a few minutes each week to decipher much of which Erin writes each week but sometimes even I am stumped] this week, so we’ve had like no food for the past 3 days, no drinking water for the past 2 days and no credito en nuestra cellular (no money on our cell phone) for about a week…. jajaja, so we’ve been getting creative.  I have NO idea where my companions found the food we ate for breakfast this morning.  I really love my companions.  We get along really great and I know that they love me and I love them!!  Having a best friend by your side everyday is the best thing you could ask for. Especially in a foreign country.  I feel like my Spanish has improved by leaps and bounds lately and someone told me that I am “super camba”! It was a really nice compliment 🙂

Deal of the week– I found PEANUT BUTTER for 10 Bolivianos… that’s like $1.20, so that was the best.  And my first peanut butter in about 4 months so it was great.

Okay I wanted to talk about Hermano German this week.  I’m gonna get a picture with him this week with mis hermanas, pero espera hasta next week (y por mas photos de mis cumpleaños! yay!)  Anyway, the sisters found him READING A BOOK OF MORMON, and they didn’t know him.  So they contacted him and he was in Alma 44!!  He’s now in Mormon and should finish the Book of Mormon before his baptism on the 18th.  He has such a strong testimony of the Church and the Book of mormon that he defends to his adventista brother, his neighbors and his old friends.  He read the scripture that says no unclean thing can dwell in the presence of God so he changed his cleaning habits and keeps his little cuarto spotless.  Every time we go by his house, he’s 63(we put a little birthday card for him up in his window :))))), he’s outside reading with his little glasses and his little cowboy boots.  Hermano German is truly an exmaple of quick faith in the Lord.  He’s been active in about 5 very different Christian churches and baptized in 2 of them, but now he is very sure of his decision and couldn’t be happier to receive the restored Gospel into his life.  He says that what we teach actually makes sense and that the Book of Mormon is clearer than the Bible(in the words of Hermana Wilkinson, the Bible has the ingredients and the Book of Mormon has the recipe).  I feel like I knew him before, there’s just a good connection I have with Hermano German.  He’s the best. This past week he has been all worried because he doesn’t have a tie or little white camiseta for church on Sundays, so Hermano Marcos gave him one!! Hermano German said it was a miracle and a blessing and he will happily wear it and wash it every Sunday. Of that I am sure.  It’s humbling when faithful people thank you for your teachings and bear their testimonies of the Restored Gospel….  I wish everyone could have such faith as Hermano German has.

Okay not much time but one other little thought(I had a really great principios de evangelio class con mis compañeras this week so I want to share a little bit of this–We always ask people three important things! Their oraciones, their lectura y their asistencia.  If they are praying, if they are reading and if they are attending church.  I realized that we ask about those 3 things because it represents their willingness to REPENT. When we pray it means that we WANT the fortaleza (strength) and love from our Father in Heaven, we WANT to feel His presence and guidance a little bit more.  If you are reading the Book of Mormon or any scriptures, it shows that you want MORE of the Lord’s word, you want to know what ELSE you can do to keep changing and repenting.  And of course there are  examples, both good and bad, to give you animos to keep on going. And then if you are attending church, you can take the sacrament and leave some things behind that you’ve worked on changing for the week!

The repentance process made SO MUCH MORE SENSE, once I connected those dots.
Okay gotta run! Have a good day and don’t forget to repent! Love y’all!!

Hna E Butikofer

PS
And Happy Bolivian Mother’s Day!! This is a little video that I’ve seen everywhere that I really really like so please enjoy! Although it is in Spanish…… [it does have pictures so I think you can get the gist of it]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fF2_s5tDn2s

Ponderize:
Therefore, go ye unto your homes, and ponder upon the things which I have said, and ask of the Father, in my name, that ye may understand (3 Nephi 17:3)
And whatsoever ye shall ask the Father in my name,which is right, believing that ye shall receive, behold itshall be given unto you (3 Nephi 18:20)
And whatsoever ye shall ask the Father in my name,which is right, believing that ye shall receive, behold itshall be given unto you (3 Nephi 19:9)
It was given unto them what they should pray, and they were filled with desire (3 Nephi 19:24)
… and their hearts were open and they did understand in their hearts (3 Nephi 19:33)

IMG_8664.JPGIMG_8658.JPGIMG_8687.JPGIMG_8668.JPG
A few of my friends
IMG_8697.JPG
My birthday breakfast that my companions scrounged up from somewhere!

 

Leave a Reply

