June 13, 2016 {Week 52}: My One Year Anniversary

Ahhhh, I feel a little stressed because time has gotten away from me a bit! So a couple little things first.

We made deep fried oreos this week when I was inside for 3 days!  SO GOOD. Yeah, we’ve been inside for 3 days this week because I overstretched a tendon in my foot so I couldn’t walk very well and I was taking some scary strong medicine, but I’m okay now! yay! I just need to be careful not to step bad again, cause it hurts all over again if I do that.

Hermana Denise got baptized on Saturday.  She has such a strong testimony of the Book of Mormon and the Church and acutally understands everything we teach.  She comprehends the Gospel and has recieved it fully not just listened to it.  So happy for the decision she’s made! and her stepdad, who got married and baptized about a month ago with the rest of Hermana Denise’s family got to do the baptism! And next week her little brother turns 8 so he will also be getting baptized by his dad!  Every activity in the church is so that families can be eternal.

We had a really great couple of lessons with Hermano German this week!  We met his brother who is a recent convert and found out that one of our recent converts is his old high school buddy! Hermano Luis!  It was a wonderful surprise to have a big happy lesson with old family friends.  I understand their joy in meeting an old friend who is preparing to enter the waters of baptism, pues that’s what happens when every investigator makes the decision to become a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I feel like they are just old friends I knew before, and I have the joy and pleasure to help them enter into the waters of baptism. I love missionary work! PS he gets baptized next week!!

Moving on… I wanted to talk a little bit about commandments.  Commandments are so vitally important, I never really realized that before the mission.  But the Lord God, who created us and all things, somtimes COMMANDS us to do things.  But really it is only because He loves us.  He wants us to be happy so he has taught us and shown us the guidelines we should follow to be truly happy now and forever.  The important thing being FOREVER.  Material things of this world can’t really keep us happy forever, it is only a a temporal and temporary happiness.  If all you look for is money, good grades, a crazy lifestyle… all those things only serve to give us temporal happiness(and to be frank will condem us in the last day), so we NEED to keep the commandments.

As I’ve been reading the Book of Mormon this time around I’ve found a lot of commandments that aren’t necessarily written like the 10 commants as in “thou shalt nots” it is more like “do this and receive the blessings promise”… one of the biggest themes in the Book of Mormon, other than talking about the great plan of God for His children, and the redemption of all mankind through Christ is “keep my commandments and you shall prosper in this land”…. so here are some commandments that really hit home for me as I’ve also been reading the words of latter day apostles and prophets(which in the words of Hermano German testify that there is a living God and a living Christ still– Hermano German is truly inspired.)

repent- ALL THE ENDS OF THE EARTH ARE COMMANDED TO REPENT AND COME UNTO CHRIST

pray-  God commands us to talk to Him daily, it is not a suggestion, it is a command

study Isaiah- Christ Himself, amongst several other prophets have told us that we must search the prophecies of Isiah, so I need to do it in English this time around

eternal marriage-  this one really hit me, I didn’t know that it was a commandment to be eternally married to our spouses… but it is true, if commandments are to make us ETERNALLY happy and it is a commandment to “cleave unto your spouse and be one flesh” then we MUST be eternally married as well.  It all just makes so much sense.  The plan that Heavenly Father organized for us just makes so much sense.  He’s so perfect.  We are so blessed in this day and age to have the Church on the earth that has the same sealing power given to Peter in ancient times…  I love the Gospel, and I love my Heavenly Father!

https://www.mormonchannel.org/watch/series/mormon-messages/obedience-to-the-ten-commandments

Also just want to share my short testimony of the Book of Mormon.

I have read the Book of Mormon several times and have come to know MY God and MY Savior by reading it.  It truly has brought ME closer to my Father in Heaven and I have seen and I KNOW that it brings other people closer to Christ as well.  The Book of Mormon speaks of nothing else but the merciful arm of God over His children, it may do it in a different fashion than the Bible, but it to speaks and testifies of Christ.  It is the voice of a people crying of the dust calling all to repentance and all to come unto Christ and be saved at the great and last day…. They say that missionary work in the end is all about that ONE SOUL that you can bring unto Christ and for me that one soul really is MINE.  And I want to rejoice in the Gospel of Christ.  I know that the Book of Mormon has helped me learn more about who am I, why I am here, and where I am going.  I urge each of you to read and pray of the Book of Mormon.  And something I did last night(that has never ever ever even once occurred to me) is pray and ask God if the Bible is true….  I feel like often time we take the Bible for granted, but we shouldn’t!  It is the inspired writings of the Apostles who lived and loved alado del Señor(along side the Savior).  I prayed about it last night and received the same warm manifestation of the Spirit testify to me that it is a true book!  The same feeling I got as I have read and prayed over the Bok of Mormon!

Hna E Butikofer

Recommended readings:

Mormon 7-9
Mormon 9:21,25
21 Behold, say unto you that whoso believeth in Christ, doubting nothing, whatsoever he shall ask the Father in the name of Christ it shall be granted him; and this promise is unto all, even unto the ends of the earth. 
25 And whosoever shall believe in my name, doubting nothing, unto him will confirm all my words, even unto the ends of the earth.

IMG_8847.JPGIMG_8879.JPGIMG_8862.JPGIMG_8868.JPGIMG_8913.JPGIMG_8897.JPGIMG_8907.JPGIMG_8842.JPGDSC08808.JPG

Leave a Reply

