July 4, 2016 {Week 55}: I answer a few questions about my missionary life

STOP, DROP AND ROLL AND GO READ THIS:

https://annathemissionary.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/lawrence-corbridge-the-fourth-missionary.pdf

Just forget that it talks about missionares and apply it to your own life.  It, I really think it can, I believe it can, change your life.  I am going to start applying oodles of it here IN the mission and afterwards.  It contains teachings for LIFE. GO AND READ IT.

After reading this and the Riccardi Letter again this week I’ve decided to focus a lot more on my personal progress.  How I can become a better daughter of God?  So I am using the teachings from the scriptures, the Christlike attributes chapter en PME, making a list of 20 people that have influenced my life and why, and doing a list of the 10 most important things I can accomplish in this life, asking the questoin “what 3 things would I ask Christ for my life if He were here with me?”, and a big long list of ALL the things I would like to learn upon returning home.
Soooo, its been a good week here en Trinidad,  We got WICKED lost Tuesday morning and it took us A WHOLE HOUR to walk back to our area.  I misheard a references and we went on a 20 minute 30 Boliviano taxi ride instead of like a 5 minute, 10 Boliviano one.  It’s been some SUPER long days walking. Needless to say I haven’t slept my entire mission as well as I did on Tuesday night.  Like a log, we were both OUT.

We also got invited to a service project WITH HERMANO GERMAN!!  We painted and cleaned and scrubbed down his house with the high priest group from the ward.  It was the best ever!  He told us that we were tatooted on his heart ❤ how precious!  I wanted to die.  and of course Hermana Wilki was super happy to see all her old friends from Pompeya.  It was a really great day.  Then another day we washed clothes for 2 hours with an investigator and then helped another sister make masaco(fried green plaintains mashed and mixed with fried giant slat jerky stuff, I personally don’t find it very appealing).  I love providing service!  We always always ALWAYS ask people if we can do some service.  Serving others really does brighten your day.  It just makes everything better.  I wish I could just do service projects all the time.  They are literally the best.

I finished Job this week!! YEAH!  The more and more I’ve gotten into reading the Bible the more and more I love it.  But that doesn’t take away from my testimony of the Book of Mormon it just adds to it!  Becuase they ALL TESTIFY OF THE SAME THING– The divinity of Christ, His suffereings, and that God’s hand is literally in EVERYTHING.  Gosh why is He so perfect?  I know the Bible to be the word of God too, and I can now say that with more confidence!!  I’m hoping to get through los evangelios antes de irme a la casa en diciembre.

Job 12: 7-10
But ask now the beasts, and they shall teach thee; and the fowls of the air, and they shall tell thee:
Or speak to the earthand it shall teach thee: and the fishes of the sea shall declare unto thee.
Who knoweth not in all these that the hand of the Lordhath wrought this?
10 In whose hand is the soul of every living thing, and the breath of all mankind.

These are some of my favorite scriptures from my studies this past week.  I love how God created EVERYTHING.  Everything has the breath of life in them.  Yesterday we saw a crocodile without a tail being dragged beind a moto(I’m hoping it was dead), and there are  always people beating their dogs so, it’s really sad sometimes especially when the Lord made everything to managed and controlled by us, not to be hurt and destroyed.  Revelations teaches that every living thing wll bow and tongue confess that Jesus is the Chrst.  It’s not just pepole that will and that have and that are worshipping God the Father and Christ His Son, the animals do too.  I am convinced that they would recognize the voice of their Maker if He called them.

Which just kind of leads me to another pretty set of scriptures in Doctrine and Covenants 59.

16 Verily say, that inasmuch as ye do this, the fulness of the earth is yours, the beasts of the field and the fowls of the air, and that which climbeth upon the trees and walketh upon the earth;
17 Yea, and the herb, and the good things which come of the earth, whether for food or for raimentor for houses, or for barns, or for orchards, or for gardens, or for vineyards;
18 Yea, all things which come of the earth, in the season thereof, are made for the benefit and the use of man, both to please the eye and to gladden the heart;
19 Yea, for food and for raiment, for taste and for smell, to strengthen the body and to enliven the soul.
20 And it pleaseth God that he hath given all these things unto man; for unto this end were they made to be used,with judgment, not to excessneither by extortion.

I love the earth.  I wish we could treat it better.  I am so totally planning on visiting all of the national parks and go on hikes, etc when I get home.  I am going to enjoy the beauty of the earth. Maybe I’ll be more down to start living the “Utah experience”.

Oh! Before going, we have a GOLDEN investigator!  She was a reference from her daughter-in-law, all of her kids are already members although a few are inactive, and she has already, after only 2 lessons, accepted a baptism date for the 30th of this month!  So stay tuned.  She, after expalining and to paraphrase, said that she was scared BEFORE to get baptized because of what other people had said about the Church and what people would think of her if she decided to be baptized.

WE HAVE TO LET GO OF FEAR OF MAN TO PROGRESS.  Remember that this week.  If you are scared it is a tool of the Devil not of God. DO NOT SUCCUMB TO HIM! CHOSE LIGHT NOT DARKNESS.

Hna E Butikofer

medetizar:
Job 12:10
In whose hand is the soul of every living thing, and the breath of all mankind.

[Erin emailed Abby a list of questions to answers about her missionary life and then she answered them herself.  I have included there here.]

1. Do you wash clothes by hand? GENERALLY SPEAKING WE WASH BY HAND.
2. Do you have air conditioning? HAHAHAHAHA
3. Can you ride in motos? NO, NO MOTOS.  ONLY TAXIS.
4. With the change in sister missionary dress, are you going to be able to wear pants in your mission? I’M DYING TO WEAR PANTS! I’M GONNA DO IT AS SOON AS WE GET THE GO AHEAD.
5. When are your cambios? WE JUST HAD TRANSFERS 2 WEEKS AGO.

6. Can you drink the water from the tap? I DON’T EVEN BRUSH MY TEETH WITHT HIS TAP WATER. THE SEWAGE JUST SITS IN THE GUTTERS. IT’S BLACK AND LOOKS AND SMELLS LIKE POOP. EELS LIVE IN IT.
7. Is it hot? IT’S HOT EVERYWHERE BUT RIBERALTA IS THE HOTTEST ZONE.
8. Do people get sick a lot? WELL ALMOST EVERYONE HAS CHRONIC DIARRHEA THEIR ENTIRE MISSION.
9. Has your hair gotten destroyed like mine?  I look like a witch everyday because all the ends have broken off on about half my head? MY HAIR IS TOTALLY DESTROYED. THE WATER IS HORRIBLE HERE AND ALL OF THE SISTERS’ HAIR THINS OUT. ONE OF THE SISTERS ACTUALLY HAS A BALD SPOT. IT DESTROYS OUR HAIR SLOWLY BUT SURELY.

DSC08939.JPGDSC08964.JPGDSC08972.JPGDSC08955.JPGDSC08953.JPGIMG_9126.JPGIMG_9077.JPGDSC08949.JPGIMG_9086.JPGIMG_9136.JPGIMG_9084.JPG

Leave a Reply

