July 11, 2016 {Week 56}: I love my new area!

So no pictures this week due to a pequeña confusion pero la otra semana habrá. No os preocupéis!!

I’m still working on my personal progress this week, but Hna Wilkinson and I are going to really help one another this week, so we can see the progress.  Hna Wilkinson is my best friend.  I am so so so so happy and blessed to have her as my companion.  I’m hoping I’ll be able to matarla here at the end of the NEXT transfer.  I’ve called her Abby about 5 times now if that’s any indication of our progress…. jajaja, she’s the best and we are basically the same person too in many things.

The area is finally getting some movement and we are having LOTS of contacts and references and getting to know the members too.  We got invited to eat fish this week– IT WAS HUGE. Pretty sure I swallowed 3 bones and we ate at least a pound of fish each and drank half a liter of coca cola, and a raw egg drink thing. AND FISH BRAIN, WE ATE FISH BRAIN. It just tasted like oil though, but still cool.

I wanted to talk a little bit about the small and simple things we can do to build a relationship with God.  As said en mi medetizar, all great things start out of small things– so start small!  All it takes is a daily prayer, our Father wants to hear from us!  And all we have to do is pray, it’s a shorter distance than a long distance phone call.  Life can be hard and confusing and distracting, the mission is the same way, but with a prayer the waters are calmed and the Lord can show us His love and extend His blessings to us.  Prayer, like really fervent heartfelt prayer, was something I was missing in my life before the mission.  I’ve learned how to pray here, but really it’s just from so much practice you get callouses on your knees 😉 Start with that daily prayer to thank the Lord for everything.  It’s easy– just open your heart to give thanks and then ask for the small, but personal things you need, and then close in the name of Christ.  Reading even just one scripture a day is another simple way to keep your heart focused on the Lord throughout the day– we have been taught that a memorized scripture is like an old friend who always has a kind word when you need it.  That is why I am so into medetizado– I’m not particualrly good at memorizing but I do read my little scrpture every morning and various times throughout the evening and the day when we are home and even when we are teaching. I love learning from the scriptures.

But as a missionary I really firmly belive that if you are missing something in your life, go seek out the missionaries of the Church of Jesus Chrust of Latter-Day Saints.  The local church buildings are generally easy to find and everyone is really friendly and welcoming– we can’t be scared to lose our fear of man and take a step in the right direction.  ooo! epiphany! Better yet!  If you ask for direction(AKA pray) you’ll recieve them!  The Lord answers His children’s prayers if they ask with faith to believe.  I have seen the Restored Gospel change people here in Bolivia.  It makes them happier and more at peace spiritually.  When we align our life more fully with Christ’s teachings everything else just falls into place.  We do our part and the Most Powerful of all will do His.  If you want someone to really direct you, email me to my mission email I’m using and we can chat and maybe get some of the super kind and great missionaries that serve in your area to come and visit you!!! ❤

Hey I would really love some handwritten letters!  I really love recieving letters so I hope some of y’all will seriously consider doing that. PLEEEEEASE.  for favor 🙂 and pictures someone send me pictures of what real life is like now stateside, okay that makes it sound like I’ve been gone for years but you get it haha.

Man I am so grateful for the Gospel in my life.  I wish I had appreciated it more before the mission and made better decisions.  But better late than never! Life would be SOOOO different for me if I hadn’t come here to Bolivia, sometimes I try to imagine it, but I know I really wouldn’t have been as happy,  I wish everyone would be willing to just listen to the missionaries, a menos just ONCE.  The Gospel is so powerful in the lives of people.  We can’t be prideful and scared to admit our wekanesses and make the step in the right direction towards Christ.  We don’t need to live in prideful obscurity because we are scared.  We can live happily in peace if we really really REALLY ACTUALLY try to do what Christ teaches.  It’s so hard when people say they have faith in Christ and then they can’t accept the message we have– but all I can do is just keep spreading the good news of the Gospel.

Song in our heads this week:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEEpavnk7Uw

Medetizar: Doctrine and Covenants 64: 32-34
32 But all things must come to pass in their time.
33 Wherefore, be not weary in well doingfor ye are laying the foundation of great work. And out of small things proceedeth that which is great.
34 Behold, the Lord requireth the heart and willing mind; 

Have a great and awesome happy  week!
Hna E Butikofer (I think I’ve just forgotten my first name completely)

3052425769_3354d86b43_o.jpgAs seen around town

Leave a Reply

