August 1, 2016 {Week 59}: Not too much going on this week

So this week I did get a really sweet handwritten letter from a lady in the ward in IL that I don’t even know (or can’t remember), so that was nice to hear a little bit of her conversion experience. Thank you!

Not much to say this week, ni tampoco lots of photos– except for the sloth crawling around the plaza yesterday!!  I totally though it was some freakish dogchild until I looked at it better, but I did almost scream at first.  I realized that I am a very very VERY jumpy person….. Hermana Nelson got me 3 TIMES IN A ROW this morning, and I could clearly see her coming to get me.  It’s pathetic.

We got cactuses this week!! Mine is Rosita Luz y la de Herman Wilkinson se llama Fernandito!  We are super excited about them!! yayyyyyy

We started with family history here in the stake, some how we got roped into it being a stake activity, so now every member is invited on Wednesdays and Saturdays.  But indexing is literally the most fun EVER and sooooo easy, it’s addictive…. *knock on wood* but I kind of hope that’s my calling when I get home becasue I will totes accept it, being the famly history consultant.  Who doesn’t want to find out the names of all their ancestors and such?!?  Especially when they are like from cool other countries, and as Americans that is something INCREDIBLY common for us, being a melting pot, etc.  That’s my friendly suggestion for the week…to get your past into your heart so we can look to the future. Malachi 4:And he shall turn the heart of the fathers to the childrenand the heart of the children to their fathers, lest come and smite the earth with curse.

Cambios are this week!  So we will have to see what all happens, although Hermana Wilki and I are pretty confident that we will both be staying here. And the dry season is upon us, and el sur is like passing officially forever until next year–  just tell myself I only have to survive until the end of November jajajaja, el calor es fatal de verdad.  But its okay, I will survive!  But it’s crazy that HALF of the sisters in my mision are going home.  ALL the latinas I’ve known my entire mission are leaving!!  Of the 6 of them I’ve been companions with 5 of them.  Now Americans will out number latinas, considering there will be only 2 of them bajajaja.  It’s such lowwww numbers on sisters here, somos pocas, pero valientes(o como dicen aca “valientas”).  I know the new little sisters coming in are going to do good things and be well prepared by the wonderful sisters that serve here with us.

Anyway, we also ran into A LOT of false doctrine this week, from nonmember and menos activos alike.  I’ve relizd, especially after my studies in the scriptures here in the mission that I’ve never found anything in the scriptures to contradict what we believe as members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints ni tampococ what we teach as missionaries for said church and representatives for the Lord Jesus Christ.  Everything I’ve ever read just supports it.  False doctrine is due to the Great Apostasy, o sea the period of time after Christ and His apostles died and with them the priesthood and revelation.  When they all died everyone went around trying to teach what they saw to be the truth, or taking a pedazito here and another pedazito there to make their own churches.  And then EVERYONE got confused.  And then now there is a bajillion churches still confusing people and getting us to believe in things that aren’t actually written down ANYWHERE.  The scriptures literally are the key to EVERYTHING, well that and living prophets.

The living prophet is more important to us than dead prophet…

God’s revelation to Adam did not instruct Noah how to build the Ark. Noah needed his own revelation. Therefore the most important prophet so far as you and are concerned is the one living in our day and age to whom the Lord is currently revealing His will for us. Therefore the most important reading we can do is any of the words of the prophet contained each month in our Church Magazines. Our instructions about what we should do for each six months are found in the General Conference addresses which are printed in the [Ensign]… “Beware of those who would set up the dead prophets against the living prophets, for the living prophets always take precedence.” — Best quote about prophets EVERRRRR. Thank you Ezra Taft Benson.

But it’s so true!  Christ established His church on the foundation of apostles and prophets(and are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophetsJesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone; Ephesians 2:20) I am so grateful for the reformists, I totally know that they were inspired of God, just like the founding fathers and Christopher Columbus, totally inspired men.  Anyway, and that is WHY the Church was reestablished again in these last days through Jospeh Smith so that we don’t have to walk in the traps and lies of man and their precepts.  I love Heavenly Father. He is just so kind and so great.  I am perfectly convinced that if anyone reads the Book of Mormon and prays, they will receive an answer– HOWEVER what they do with said answer is another story, but they KNOW the divinity of the Book and that it testifies of Christ. I just wish everyone wouldn’t be scared and just TRUST IN HEAVENLY FATHER.  Take the leap of faith amd cast off your dang fears and trust in Him.

Anyways have a good week nos vemos!!!
Hna E Butikofer

Love y’all oodles!  I’m praying for y’all and PLEASE SEND ME LETTERS:)

PONDERIZE: Ezekiel 18: 31,32
31 Cast away from you all your transgressions, whereby ye have transgressed; and make you new heart and new spiritfor why will ye diehouse of Israel?
32 For have no pleasure in the death of him that dieth, saith the Lord Godwherefore turn yourselves, and live ye.

DSC09014.JPGDSC09116.JPGIMG_9365.JPGIMG_9362.JPGDSC08982.JPG

Leave a Reply

