August 22, 2016 {Week 62}: Another week in SUNSHINEY and SWEATY Bolivia

So the most random bit of news is that we got haircuts last week and now have “mom mullets” as we disaffectionately call them… I look like a 30 year old with 3 kids trying to look hip. Hna Wilkie looks like a mom too and so does Hna Nelson…. we all 3 of us somehow got the same haircut– life kinda sucks haha….. I had so much hair and SHE CUT IT ALL OFF! Flipside though– my hair feels ridiculously healthier so that’s nice I guess…. We just pray for our hair and our teeth all the time so hopefully it’ll grow out by them time I get home.

Short list of things I love about Bolivia and the Bolivian people. O a menos, el Beni!

1. they have no fear to pray or sing hymns in public places with strangers walking by

2. they are creative with what they have

3. they live worry free without stressing out about the little thing and they know how to take it all in stride

4. they KNOW that God will never abandon them, they all know it, everyone says it and I think they actually have faith in it

5. very friendly and sincere with people

6. they are happy with the simple things in life, no one is worried about having the bigger or the better, they are just so simply happy

So we got a sad baptism rejection this week….  I’ve never felt so sad before to have someone turn down a baptism invitation….. She just said that she didn’t feel like she should even though she said she knows the Book of Mormon is true…  I kind of wanted to cry there in the lesson it was sad….

BUT! Hna Nelida is getting baptized on Saturday and we are SUPER EXCITED for that!  She’s been a perfect little investigator, completing all her compromisos, inviting the Spirit into her personal life and reading and praying and doing thing everyday that she never did before…. that’s a Christian real conversion-….

I really loved Abby’s reencuentro story from this past week.  One of the hermanas shared a story with us of how, a couple years after her baptism she went to the temple and there changing in the dressing room all dressed in white in the silence of the temple was the sister missionry that first started teaching her!!  She cried and they just hugged it out there….  I was totally touchd by th Spirit when she told that story, because that is how our reencuentros en los cielos wll be too.  Just lots of hugs and remembering and tears of beautiful happiness to see the people we loved and lost contact with there….  I am absolutely convinced that many many MANY people will be saved int h Kingdom of God when all is said and done….  I love doing indexing and family history work so that other people wll have that opportunity of beautiful reencuentros all dressed in white…  There are so many people waiting on the other side, for the chance they never got on earth.  I’m excited to go be a temple worker when I get home.

Ok so here is a little scripture lesson for the week. I read in Jacob 5 this week, in English just to get a change from my Spanish scriptures, and it is SO GOOD.  Before the mission, Jacob 5 was just this chore I had to get over in the Book of Mormon before I got to Mosiah(I have an insta post about that from like 2 years ago lol), but I ABSOLUTLEY love it now. It’s an allegory of how the olive vineyard is like the world and being missionaries and good people etc uggh I just love it…. the Lord of the vineyard cries because someone has corrupted his trees!

 41 And it came to pass that the Lord of the vineyard wept, and said unto the servant: What could have done more for my vineyard?
 47 But what could have done more in my vineyard? Have slackened mine hand, that have not nourished it? Nay, have nourished it, and have digged about it, and have pruned it, and have dunged it; and have stretched forth mine hand almost all the day long, and the end draweth nigh. And it grieveth me that should hew down all the trees of my vineyard, and cast them into the fire that they should be burned. Who is it that has corrupted my vineyard?
 
The Lord just loves us so much, He just works and works and works and then WE corrupt OURSELVES…. I’ve talked about agency a whole bunch and this just goes back to the same thing, it’s all about the freedom the Lord gave us from the beginning.  But He calls us, personally through Christ to follow Him! I used this scripture for la hermana that said no to baptism but it also applies nicely here:

 12 And also, the voice of the Son came unto me, saying: He that is baptized in my name, to him will the Father give the Holy Ghost, like unto me; wherefore, follow me, and do the things which ye have seen me do.

Christ did ALL that was desired of Him on earth and we aren’t perfect but we sure can try to follow in His steps as best we can!  It’s a lifelong process, but I plan on trying the rest of my life to be more like Him.  And right now as a representative of His I am doing my very very VERY best everyday, although there’s always room to repent for tomorrow(neat phrase I came up with this week—  “I am who I am today becasue of who I was yesterday”)

Anyways Jacob 5 also talks about that from verses 61- 77 and my favoirite one is verse 75.

“And it came to pass that when the Lord of the vineyard saw that his fruit was good, and that his vineyard was no more corrupt, he called up his servants, and said unto them: Behold, for this last time have we nourished my vineyard; and thou beholdest that have done according tomy will; and have preserved the natural fruit, that it is good, even like as it was in the beginning. And blessed art thou; for because ye have been diligent in laboring with me in my vineyard, and have kept my commandments, and have brought unto me again the natural fruit, that my vineyard is no more corrupted, and the bad is cast away, behold ye shall have joy with me because of the fruit of my vineyard.”
 
We are serving as His servants in these last days before the burning comes.  We just have to work and work with all our might and our diligence to help other people.  Which leads me to my medetizar that even despite our best efforts and the Lord’s power and the Spirit and lots and lots and LOTS of prayers, sometimes it still doesn’t add up.  Ageny is still the most powerful gift we’ve ever been given and if people chose NOT to be as happy as they possibly could be we just have to let it go.  Love the sinner but not the sin, people are always going to choose and eventually, if they are willing to change the Lord can change them and they will come unto Christ more fully.

Sometimes the mission just fills you with righteous sadness….  I can’t believe the Lord cries and has cried because of our decisions, gosh I hope I can do Him good until I get home and afterwards too as life goes on.

Jacob 5

https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/jacob/5?lang=eng

Anyway have a super duper good week friends and loved ones!  Remember to be better and do better.  Make good decisions to come unto Christ and maybe we can have a beautiful reencentro a little bit sooner than Heaven! 😉

Hna E Butikofer

Medetizar:
Doctrine and Covenants 88:32,33
32 And they who remain shall also be quickenednevertheless, they shall return again to their own place, to enjoy that which they are willing to receive, because they were not willing to enjoy that which they might have received.
33 For what doth it profit man if gift is bestowed upon him, and he receive not the gift? Behold, he rejoices not in that which is given unto him, neither rejoices in him who is the giver of the gift.

IMG_8693.jpg

Leave a Reply

