September 5, 2016 {Week 64}: One More Week for my Companions

I am Chef Butikofer these days at the house!! I’ve made oreo cookie butter, omelets, pancakes, puppy chow, homemade tomato soup, AND rice krispy treats. I am so on TOP of these things that last week we got 19 REFERENCIAS!  So we’ve been contacting and organizing all of them this week, so this upcoming week literally EVERY SINGLE HOUR OF EVERY SINGLE DAY is filled with citas fijas, and both of my companions are going to concilio tomorrow(Hna Wilki and I decided to do something really sweet and sneaky and called Pdte so that Hna Nelson could go to her last and only concilio ever. But what that means is that I am going to be running around with Hna Titauña like a chicken with its head cut off…. it’s gonna be a long and VERY hectic and exciting week. We are super psyched.

The hardest English grammar EVER– ready for this? there is, there are, there was. and there were— I say there is/was FOR EVERYTHING. I can’t remember really English anymorrrrre. oh well

We are currently gettng WHIPPED by a really cold SUR. I’m gonna die in winter in the states, I’m just gonna curl up and sleep for all of it, which we can’t do here. But this sur is STRONG, we’ve been shivering in our rainboots the past 2 days and this morning especially.

We found a place that sells A MAGNIFICENT cuñape, I am sooooo excited to take my family back there to try it. When I get my daughter (trainee) next week I will be taking her there  ASAP. I am excited jijijiji

I finally went on an intercambio with Hna Nelson this week for the first time in SIX MONTHS. Oooo, it was nice and strangely refreshing to be teaching with her again. I’ve been feeling the spirit a lot in our lessons these past couple weeks… which reminds me of a handy dandy sciprutre en Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance:against such there is no law.

— which is EXACTLY what I feel like we as a companionship have been feeling ALL week. We taught a really good lesson yesterday about el plan de slavación to a part memebr family and another friend of theirs. The friend ASKED us to be baptized. She ASKED when she could be baptized. And then we invited Gabby to baptism and she said YES. Such a fantastic lesson. And then when Gabby was praying, she asked the Lord if what we had taught was true(at least if I remember correctly) and then pauses and we just hear a very quiet “whoa”………it was such a great moment to feel the spirit and to know that she recognized it for herself. She cried for about 10 minutesd afterwards becasue she felt the Spirit so strongly. Her husband said that they are willing to make the change to get themselves back to church. I am SO excited to be involved with the work here en Central…. I hope I’ll be staying to finish up my mission here!

So reading in the Book of Mormon this week(which is one of my ABSOLUTELY favorite things to do) I learned somehting really important, I don’t really have a scripture to pin it with, but its something I”ve learned— The Lord answers our prayers through other people. So I’ve decided that maybe I should start praying for OTHER people to help the pèople we teach and you people at home that I pray for all the time. Which is also kind of changing my way of teaching…. It’s like this– How would I teach if the most important person to me was sitting in on the lesson? How would I teach if I knew some far away family member is praying for their loved one to recieve the Gospel? How would I teach if Christ, Himself was sitting in the room next to me, participating? It’s really help me focus more and be more serious and pensive and loving in my invitations to act on their faith(compromisos) and listening to and responding to the Spirit more closely, and sharing specific and direct scriptures with loving boldness.

Side note: some cool things I’ve learned on the mission
-how to make up food on limited resources and money
-I actually REALLY enjoy singing
-I love goal setting. love it.
-I love learning new and weird random things.
-I think Spanish is pretty cool and now I’m excited to go on and visit a bunch of places and meet new people and do cool new things in Spanish when I get home.

Medetizar: 1 Nephi 15:25
Wherefore, I, Nephi, did exhort them to give heed unto the word of the Lord; yea, I did exhort them with all the energies of my soul, and with all the faculty which I possessed, that they would give heed to the word of God and remember to keep his commandments always in all things.

Recommended reading:
https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2009/10/safety-for-the-soul?lang=eng&_r=1
Deuteronomy 8
1 Samuel 18-21(about Jonathan y David)
https://www.lds.org/media-library/video/2010-08-16-voice-of-the-spirit?lang=eng

Love you all, please don’t forget your potential and I would urge each of you to sit down and read and meditate and pray over the Book of Mormon, with FAITH, and be prepared to act on what you recieve

“We invite all men everywhere to read the Book of Mormon, to ponder in their hearts the message it contains, and then to ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ if the book is true. Those who pursue this course and ask in faith will gain a testimony of its truth and divinity by the power of the Holy Ghost. (See Moroni 10:3–5.)

Those who gain this divine witness from the Holy Spirit will also come to know by the same power that Jesus Christ is the Savior of the world, that Joseph Smith is His revelator and prophet in these last days, and that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the Lord’s kingdom once again established on the earth, preparatory to the Second Coming of the Messiah.” -Introduction to The Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ

Hna E Butikofer

PS You must watch the video Pre-Blessed Food by Julian Smith this week. My companions keep on reenacting it and we’ve almost peed our pants from laughing so hard. My companions are the BEST!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9JUqS4Q2A0

IMG_8761.JPGIMG_8755.JPGIMG_8819.JPGIMG_8814.JPGIMG_8810.JPGIMG_8824.JPGIMG_8829.JPGFullSizeRender.jpgIMG_8828.JPG

Leave a Reply

