October 10, 2016 {Week 69}: Papa Johns and Cinnabon!

So I went to concilio last week and probably gained back the 2 kilos I’ve lost on Papa Johns and Cinnabon… but it was TOTALLY worth it… and this time the pizza didn’t get me sick and in the hospital YAAAAAY! Pants for sisters are now mandatoray from November to April, so my last month I will be in pants everyday an I am SUPER psyched… we are going pants shopping today or next Monday woot woot. Today’s activity is that we are visiting the 2nd biggest fish museum in South America or something like that… pescaditos hermositos bajajaja!

Anyway, this week I’ve started studying 2 Nephi to try and find the “teachings of happiness” written there– it was a spiritual impression of sorts I received during conference, and decided to diligently put it into practice.  I’ve learned a lot and several of those things I would like to share with y’all today. My medetizar actually and then 2 other thoughts….

1) Sometimes I am ashamed of the person I was before… like I hope you people can just forget about ALLLL of that and try and focus on the person that I AM and not who I WAS… I think that is something the pre-mission Sister Butikofer was NOT good at accepting… I used to always consider people based on what they HAD done, not what they were doing and much less who they COULD be….  It’s a talent I’ve learned to develop and put into practice here on the mission. But I hope other people will be kind enough to do it too!

2) So missionaries we don’t go around knocking doors saying “HEY want to learn more about the Book of Mormon?” or “Ever heard of Jospeh Smith? Let’s talk about him.” No.-  We simply invite others to learn more of Christ.  Every lesson we teach focuses on God’s pattern of love through the ages, the blessing and importance of the family, the Atonement of Christ, and why Christ is the only way and name under heaven by which we can be saved.  Nothing else.  Literally nothing else.  It leads back to the love God has for us….So I decided to dig up some good scriptures from the Book of Momrmon that address these things to share them with you here.

Helaman 5:12 And now, my sons, remember, remember that it is upon the rock of our Redeemer, who is Christ, the Son of God, that ye must build your foundation; that when the devil shall send forth his mighty winds, yea, his shafts in the whirlwind, yea, when all his hail and his mighty stormshall beat upon you, it shall have no power over you to drag you down to the gulf of misery and endless wo, because of the rock upon which ye are built, which is a sure foundation, a foundation whereon if men build they cannot fall.

2 Nephi 25:26 And we talk of Christ, we rejoice in Christ, we preach of Christ, we prophesy of Christ, and we write according to our prophecies, that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins.

Mosiah 4  https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/mosiah/4?lang=eng (entire chapter)

Jacob 4:11 Wherefore, beloved brethren, be reconciled unto him through the atonement of Christ, his Only Begotten Son, and ye may obtain a resurrection, according to the powerof the resurrection which is in Christ, and be presented as the first-fruits of Christ unto God, having faith, and obtained a good hope of glory in him before he manifesteth himself in the flesh.

2 Nephi 2 https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/2-ne/2?lang=eng (entire chapter)

2 Nephi 9: 45 O, my beloved brethren, turn away from your sins; shake off the chains of him that would bind you fast; come unto that God who is the rock of your salvation.

2 Nephi 4: 16-35  https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/2-ne/4?lang=eng

Alma 34: 1-16 https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/alma/34.1-16?lang=eng

 15 And thus he shall bring salvation to all those who shall believe on his name; this being the intent of this last sacrifice, to bring about the bowels of mercy, which overpowereth justice, and bringeth about means unto men that they may have faith unto repentance.
16 And thus mercy can satisfy the demands of justice, and encircles them in the arms of safety, while he that exercises no faith unto repentance is exposed to the whole law of the demands of justice; therefore only unto him that has faith unto repentance is brought about the great and eternalplan of redemption.

3 Nephi 11 https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/3-ne/11?lang=eng

15 And it came to pass that the multitude went forth, and thrust their hands into his side, and did feel the prints of the nails in his hands and in his feet; and this they did do, going forth one by one until they had all gone forth, and did see with their eyes and did feel with their hands, and did know of a surety and did bear record, that it was he, of whom it was written by the prophets, that should come.

3 nephi 1:13-14
Lift up your head and be of good cheer; for behold, the time is at hand, and on this night shall the sign be given, and on the morrow come I into the world, to show unto the world that I will fulfil all that which I have caused to be spoken by the mouth of my holy prophets.
Behold, I come unto my own, to fulfil all things which I have made known unto the children of men from thefoundation of the world, and to do the will, both of the Father and of the Son—of the Father because of me, and of the Son because of my flesh. And behold, the time is at hand, and this night shall the sign be given.

3 Nephi 4: 29-33 (https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/3-ne/4?lang=eng)

3 nephi 9: 13-22 (https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/3-ne/9?lang=eng)

Alma 7: 9-13 (https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/alma/7.9-13?lang=eng)

Mosiah 3: 17-18
And moreover, I say unto you, that there shall be noother name given nor any other way nor means wherebysalvation can come unto the children of men, only in and through the name of Christ, the Lord Omnipotent.
For behold he judgeth, and his judgment is just; and the infant perisheth not that dieth in his infancy; but men drink damnation to their own souls except they humble themselves and become as little children, and believe thatsalvation was, and is, and is to come, in and through theatoning blood of Christ, the Lord Omnipotent.

Moroni 7: 11-14 (https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/moro/7?lang=eng)

I am really stressed on time again this week !! Enjoy this week’s email.

Love y’all mucho tengan una boninga semana les quiero tchauuuuuuuuuu!!!!!!!

Bolivia is the bomb.dot.com.

Hermana E Butikofer

Medetizar: 3 Nephi 5:13
Behold, I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I have been called of him to declare his word among his people, that they might have everlasting life.

IMG_0033.JPGFullSizeRender.jpg

Leave a Reply

